Publications

Home/Publications

The International Research Centre on Cooperative Finance (IRCCF) of HEC Montréal publishes research-based analyses in the field of financial services cooperatives. Our series of publications include books, studies, policy papers, working papers and commentaries.

The IRCCF papers represent the authors’ personal opinions and do not necessarily reflect the views of the IRCCF or its staff. All documents are available for free downloading in PDF format.

Bank and Credit Union Business Models in the United States

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Michel Keoula, Willem Pieter De Groen, Walid Mathlouthi, Ibtihel Sassi | November 2017 - This study comes in response to the continuing evolution of market structures and regulatory overhaul since the financial crisis of 2007-2009 in the US.

Systemic Solutions to Systemic Crises. Dealing with NPLs in the Eurozone

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri, Rosa M. Lastra | Juillet 2017 - Le papier se penche sur la question de la restructuration du système bancaire européen.

Banks and environmental sustainability: Some financial stability reflections

Author : Maria J Nieto | September 27, 2017 - This article quantifies the direct exposure of loans to high environmental risk sectors banking systems of the European Union (EU), Switzerland, the United States, Japan and China, and analyzes some of the most important challenges facing banks and their regulators.

Carving out legacy assets: a successful tool for bank restructuring? – European Parliament

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri, Rosa M. Lastra | March 2017 - This paper considers a number of issues related to the restructuring of troubled banks in the European Union.

The Palgrave Handbook of European Banking

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Willem Pieter De Groen | January 14, 2017 - In the chapter Banks’ Business Models in Europe, the authors examine the diversity of banks in Europe by identifying banks’ business models using a novel definition and methodology.

Institutional Diversity in Banking

Author(s): Rym Ayadi | December 22, 2016 - The chapter Banks’ Business Models in Europe: Are Cooperative Banks Different? attempts to better understand the response function of each banks’ category in a crisis situation in terms of performance and risk.

The different legal and operational structures of banking groups in the euro area, and their impact on banks’ resolvability – European Parliament

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Rosa M. Lastra, Rodrigo Olivares-Caminal, Costanza Russo | December 5, 2016 - The paper assesses the impact of structures upon banks’ resolvability.

Bank business models in Europe: why does it matter for the future of regulation and resolution?

Author(s): Rym Ayadi | July 15, 2016 - This analysis can provide market participants, depositors, creditors, regulators and supervisors with a useful tool to better understand the nature of risk attached to each bank business model.

Regulatory Arbitrage in EU Banking: Do Business Models Matter?

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri, Valerio Pesic | July 15, 2016 - Do bank business models matter in risk assessment and regulation?

“Total Assets” versus “Risk Weighted Assets”: does it matter for MREL requirements? – European Parliament

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri | July 13, 2016 - Using a comprehensive sample of European banks by business model, ownership structure and systemic footprint, Pr. Rym Ayadi and Pr. Giovanni Ferri calculate MREL requirements.

Publications

Accueil/Publications

Le Centre international de recherche sur la finance coopérative (CIRFC) de HEC Montréal publie des analyses fondées sur de la recherche scientifique dans le domaine des coopératives de services financiers. Nos publications incluent des livres, des articles scientifiques, des études, des documents politiques, des documents de travail et des commentaires.

Les publications du CIRFC représentent les opinions personnelles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement les vues du CIRFC ou de son personnel. Tous les documents sont disponibles pour téléchargement gratuit en format PDF.

Bank and Credit Union Business Models in the United States

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Michel Keoula, Willem Pieter De Groen, Walid Mathlouthi, Ibtihel Sassi | Novembre 2017 - Cette étude vient en réponse à l'évolution continue des structures de marché et aux réformes réglementaires depuis la crise financière de 2007-2009 aux États-Unis.

Systemic Solutions to Systemic Crises. Dealing with NPLs in the Eurozone

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri, Rosa M. Lastra | Juillet 2017 - Le papier se penche sur la question de la restructuration du système bancaire européen.

Banks and environmental sustainability: Some financial stability reflections

Auteur : Maria J Nieto | Date de publication : 27 septembre 2017 - Cet article quantifie l'exposition directe de prêts aux secteurs à risques environnementaux élevés des systèmes bancaires de l'Union européenne (UE), de la Suisse, des États-Unis, du Japon et de la Chine, et analyse certains des défis les plus importants posés aux banques et à leurs régulateurs.

Carving out legacy assets: a successful tool for bank restructuring? – Parlement Européen

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri, Rosa M. Lastra | Mars 2017 - L’article examine un certain nombre de questions liées à la restructuration des banques en difficulté dans l'Union Européenne.

The Palgrave Handbook of European Banking

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Willem Pieter De Groen | 14 janvier 2017 - Dans le chapitre Banks’ Business Models in Europe, les auteurs examinent la diversité des banques en Europe en identifiant les modèles d'affaires des banques à travers une nouvelle définition et méthodologie.

Institutional Diversity in Banking

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi | 22 décembre 2016 - Le chapitre Banks’ Business Models in Europe: Are Cooperative Banks Different? tente de mieux comprendre la fonction de réponse de chaque catégorie de banques dans une situation de crise en termes de performance et de risque.

The different legal and operational structures of banking groups in the euro area, and their impact on banks’ resolvability – Parlement Européen

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Rosa M. Lastra, Rodrigo Olivares-Caminal, Costanza Russo | 5 décembre 2016 - L'impact des structures des groupes bancaires sur la résolvabilité.

Bank business models in Europe: why does it matter for the future of regulation and resolution?

Auteur(s) : Rym Ayadi | 15 juillet 2016 - Cette analyse peut fournir aux participants du marché, déposants, créanciers, régulateurs et superviseurs, un outil utile pour mieux comprendre le risque lié à chaque modèle d'affaires bancaire.

Regulatory Arbitrage in EU Banking: Do Business Models Matter?

Auteur(s) : Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri, Valerio Pesic | 15 juillet 2016 - Les modèles d'affaires des banques sont-ils importants dans l'évaluation des risques et la réglementation ?

“Total Assets” versus “Risk Weighted Assets”: does it matter for MREL requirements? – Parlement Européen

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri | 13 juillet 2016 – En utilisant un large échantillon des banques européennes classées selon leur modèle d’affaires, leur structure de propriété et leur empreinte systémique, les exigences MREL ont été calculées.