Publications

Home/Publications

The International Research Centre on Cooperative Finance (IRCCF) of HEC Montréal publishes research-based analyses in the field of financial services cooperatives. Our series of publications include books, studies, policy papers, working papers and commentaries.

The IRCCF papers represent the authors’ personal opinions and do not necessarily reflect the views of the IRCCF or its staff. All documents are available for free downloading in PDF format.

Diversity of the banking sector revisited: Why does it matter post-financial crisis?

Author(s): Rym Ayadi | September 24, 2015 - This IRCCF commentary explains that the slow macroeconomic recovery, together with new structures and reforms, are expected to impact upon European banking systems and business models, leading to new dimensions of diversity.

Does Basel compliance matter for bank performance? – IMF Working Papers

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Sami Ben Naceur, Barbara Casu, Barry Quinn | May 2015 - This paper focuses specifically on the adoption of international capital standards and the Basel Core Principles for Effective Bank Supervision (BCP).

State aid to banks and credit for SMEs: is there a need for conditionality? – European Parliament

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Willem Pieter De Groen, Peter Thyri | February 25, 2015 - This study assesses whether lending to SMEs could and should be one of the conditions for a bank to qualify to receive State aid.

Banking Business Models Monitor 2014 Europe

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Willem Pieter De Groen | October 7, 2014 - The Monitor offers an annual analysis of the evolving business models whitin the European banking sector since 2006, with a focus on three concepts: contribution to the real economy, performance, resilience and robustness.

Regulation of European banks and business models: towards a new paradigm? – CEPS

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Emrah Arbak, Willem Pieter De Groen | June 26, 2012 - This report emphasizes the regulatory gaps and provides policy-makers with guidance to reinforce the regulatory framework in European banking.

Investigating diversity in the banking sector in Europe: key developments, performance and role of cooperative banks – CEPS

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, David T. Llewellyn, Reinhard H. Schmidt, Emrah Arbak, Willem Pieter De Groen | September 14, 2010 - This book investigates the merits of a diverse banking system and the performance and role of cooperative banks in Europe.

Diversidad en el sector bancario europeo: la actividad y el papel de las cajas de ahorros – La Fundación de las Cajas de Ahorros

Author(s): Reinhard H. Schmidt, Santiago Carbo Valderde, Rym Ayadi, Emrah Arbak, Francisco Rodriguez Fernandez | May 20, 2010 - This book is a Spanish translation of a study led by the IRCCF Director.

Investigating diversity in the banking sector in Europe: the performance and role of savings banks – CEPS

Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Emrah Arbak, Reinhard H. Schmidt, Santiago Carbó Valverde, Francisco Rodriguez Fernandez | June 26, 2009 - This book investigates the performance and role of savings banks in selected European countries.

Publications

Accueil/Publications

Le Centre international de recherche sur la finance coopérative (CIRFC) de HEC Montréal publie des analyses fondées sur de la recherche scientifique dans le domaine des coopératives de services financiers. Nos publications incluent des livres, des articles scientifiques, des études, des documents politiques, des documents de travail et des commentaires.

Les publications du CIRFC représentent les opinions personnelles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement les vues du CIRFC ou de son personnel. Tous les documents sont disponibles pour téléchargement gratuit en format PDF.

Does basel compliance matter for bank performance? – Journal of Financial Stability

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Barry Quinn | 23 décembre 2015 – Un article académique de Rym Ayadi et Barry Quinn, ainsi que deux membres du Comité scientifique du CIRFC, a été accepté pour publication dans le Journal of Financial Stability.

Banks’ bail-out and a conditionality clause on SMEs support – European Economy

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi | 27 octobre 2015 - La directrice du CIRFC la professeure Rym Ayadi a contribué au deuxième numéro de la revue « European Economy » dédiée aux banques, à la réglementation et au secteur réel avec un article intitulé « Banks’ bail-out and a conditionality clause on SMEs support ».

Diversity of the banking sector revisited: why does it matter post-financial crisis?

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi | 24 septembre 2015 - Ce commentaire du CIRFC explique que la lente reprise macroéconomique, ainsi que les nouvelles structures et réformes, devraient avoir une incidence sur les systèmes bancaires et les modèles d'affaires.

Does Basel compliance matter for bank performance? – IMF Working Papers

Auteur(s) : Rym Ayadi, Sami Ben Naceur, Barbara Casu, Barry Quinn | Mai 2015 - L'étude se concentre spécifiquement sur l'adoption de normes internationales de capitaux et sur les principes fondamentaux de Bâle (PFB) pour un contrôle bancaire efficace.

State aid to banks and credit for SMEs: is there a need for conditionality? – European Parliament

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Willem Pieter De Groen, Peter Thyri | 25 février 2015 - Cette étude vise évalue si le crédit aux PME pourrait et devrait être l’une des conditions pour qu’une banque se qualifie pour recevoir des aides d’État.

Banking Business Models Monitor 2014 Europe

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Willem Pieter De Groen | 7 octobre 2014 - Le Moniteur fournit un suivi annuel des modèles d'affaires des banques européennes depuis 2006, selon trois concepts clés : la contribution à l’économie réelle, la performance et la résilience et la robustesse.

Regulation of European banks and business models: towards a new paradigm? – CEPS

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Emrah Arbak, Willem Pieter De Groen | 26 juin 2012 - Ce rapport met l'accent sur les lacunes en matière de réglementation et fournit des conseils pour renforcer le cadre réglementaire.

Investigating diversity in the banking sector in Europe: key developments, performance and role of cooperative banks – CEPS

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, David T. Llewellyn, Reinhard H. Schmidt, Emrah Arbak, Willem Pieter De Groen | 14 septembre 2010 - Ce livre étudie les mérites d'un système bancaire diversifié, avec un accent sur la performance et le rôle des banques coopératives.

Diversidad en el sector bancario europeo: la actividad y el papel de las cajas de ahorros – La Fundación de las Cajas de Ahorros

Auteur(s): Reinhard H. Schmidt, Santiago Carbo Valderde, Rym Ayadi, Emrah Arbak, Francisco Rodriguez Fernandez | 20 mai 2010 - Ce livre est la traduction en espagnol d'une importante étude menée par la directrice du CIRFC.

Investigating diversity in the banking sector in Europe: the performance and role of savings banks – CEPS

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Emrah Arbak, Reinhard H. Schmidt, Santiago Carbó Valverde, Francisco Rodriguez Fernandez | 26 juin 2009 - Ce livre étudie les bienfaits d'un système diversifié à travers la performance et le rôle des banques d'épargne.