Author(s): Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri, Rosa M. Lastra
Subject: State aid, Single resolution mechanism, European policies
Date published: March 2017

Rym Ayadi, IRCCF Director, Giovanni Ferri and Rosa M. Lastra, members of the IRCCF Scientific Board, consider in this paper a number of issues related to the restructuring of troubled banks in the European Union.

First, it provides an overview of how legacy assets have been dealt in a number of countries (in particular, drawing upon the experiences in Japan, the USA, Sweden and Spain), which support the case for a centralized solution in the presence of a generalized banking crisis.

Second, it sheds light on the need to differentiate between systemic and non-systemic events, by examining the relevant literature on the credit channel.

Third, it elaborates the theoretical argument on the need for a systematic centralized approach at EU level to deal with legacy assets in bank restructuring in order to maintain fair recovery rates.

Finally, it provides a preliminary assessment of the business models, risk, response to regulation and performance of 38 state aided banks via recapitalization measures and explicit restructuring requirements, with an emphasis on APS-AMC arrangements using available data between 2005 and 2015. The indicators show that these state aided banks are only returning progressively to soundness and struggling to regain their performance levels of the pre-crisis period, which is a generalized problem throughout the European banking sector.

Download the paper on European Parliament website

This material was originally published in a paper provided at the request of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs of the European Parliament and commissioned by the Directorate-General for Internal Policies of the Union and supervised by its Economic Governance Support Unit (EGOV). The opinions expressed in this document are the sole responsibility of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official position of the European Parliament. The original paper is available on the European Parliament’s webpage. © European Union, 2017. Copyright remains with the European Union at all times.

Auteur(s): Rym Ayadi, Giovanni Ferri, Rosa M. Lastra
Sujet: Aide d’Etat, Mécanisme de résolution unique, Politiques européennes
Date de publication: Mars 2017

Rym Ayadi, directrice du CIRFC, Giovanni Ferri et Rosa M. Lastra, membres du Comité scientifique du CIRFC, examinent dans cet article un certain nombre de questions liées à la restructuration des banques en difficulté dans l’Union Européenne.

Tout d’abord, il donne un aperçu de la façon dont les actifs à très haut risque ont été traités dans un certain nombre de pays (en s’appuyant notamment sur les expériences du Japon, des États-Unis, de la Suède et de l’Espagne), qui soutiennent le cas d’une solution centralisée en présence d’une crise bancaire généralisée.

Deuxièmement, il apporte un éclairage sur la nécessité de différencier les événements systémiques de ceux non systémiques, en examinant la littérature pertinente sur le canal de crédit.

Troisièmement, il développe l’argument théorique sur la nécessité d’une approche centralisée et systématique au niveau de l’UE pour traiter les actifs à très haut risque dans la restructuration bancaire afin de maintenir des taux de recouvrement équitables.

Enfin, l’article fournit une évaluation préliminaire des modèles d’affaires, des risques, de la réponse à la réglementation et à la performance de 38 banques aidées par l’État via des mesures de recapitalisation et des exigences explicites de restructuration, en mettant l’accent sur les modalités APS-AMC en utilisant les données disponibles entre 2005 et 2015. Les indicateurs montrent que ces banques aidées par l’État retrouvent progressivement une solidité mais luttent pour retrouver leurs niveaux de performance de la période pré-crise, cela étant un problème généralisé dans l’ensemble du secteur bancaire européen.

Télécharger l’article sur le site web du Parlement européen (en anglais)

Le contenu était initialement publié dans le document mis à disposition suite à la demande de la Commission des affaires économiques et monétaires du Parlement Européen et acquis par la Direction générale des Politiques internes de l’Union et supervisé par l’Unité d’assistance à la gouvernance économique (EGOV). Les opinions exprimées dans le présent document relèvent de la seule responsabilité des auteurs et ne représentent pas nécessairement la position officielle du Parlement européen. La version originale est disponible sur le site web du Parlement Européen. © Union européenne, 2017. Les droits d’auteur appartiennent à l’Union Européenne à tout moment.